About The Theosophical Society

The Theosophical Society is an international organisation founded in New York in 1875 by Helena P. Blavatsky, Henry S. Olcott, W. Q. Judge and others.

Today it has branches in about 60 countries. The Australian section of the Society was founded in 1895 and the current Sydney branch – The Blavatsky Lodge – in 1922. International Headquarters are at Adyar, Chennai, India.

The Society welcomes as members those who are in sympathy with its Three Objects which are:

  1. To form a nucleus of the Universal Brotherhood of Humanity without distinction of race, creed, sex, caste or colour.
  2. To encourage the study of comparative religion, philosophy and science.
  3. To investigate unexplained laws of Nature and the powers latent in the human being.

The Society has no dogma. Instead it provides an environment that recognises differences of approach and encourages its members to pursue their own search for understanding of themselves and the world. It extends to its members complete freedom of individual search and belief. It also provides various activities that may aid members and others in their search.

An essential principle of theosophy is its concept of a holistic world view which emphasises the unity and interconnectedness of all life, the basic oneness of all people and all species of life. Its philosophy points to a divine spark in each of us that is always part of the Source from which it arises.

The way of life implicit in its philosophy includes a high regard for all beings and actions based on an increasing realisation of our oneness with all others. It leads to the unfolding of our greatest human qualities such as intuition, understanding, insight, love, compassion and creativity.

More information about theosophy and The Theosophical Society is available through the web site of The Theosophical Society in Australia: http://www.austheos.org.au

History of The Blavatsky Lodge